Skip to content
Na h-Eileanan Siar Counts — Na h-Eileanan Siar, in numbers.Local help →

Na h-Eileanan Siar, in numbers

People and living standards

Na h-Eileanan Siar council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Na h-Eileanan Siar council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 29,330 in 1991 to 25,770 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Na h-Eileanan Siar council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,600 people in 1996; 25,770 people in 2025. 9.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Na h-Eileanan Siar council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199129,330
199229,240
199329,260
199429,120
199528,810
199628,600
199727,910
199827,540
199927,210
200026,790
200126,450
200226,350
200326,430
200426,650
200526,930
200627,060
200727,210
200827,280
200927,420
201027,600
201127,690
201227,540
201327,350
201427,180
201526,930
201626,700
201726,690
201826,500
201926,340
202026,080
202126,160
202226,120
202326,000
202425,930
202525,770
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Na h-Eileanan Siar council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 5,774 people in 1996; 3,693 people in 2025. 36% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Na h-Eileanan Siar council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19916,259
19926,182
19936,133
19946,035
19955,871
19965,774
19975,521
19985,383
19995,264
20005,139
20014,954
20024,900
20034,902
20044,878
20054,840
20064,778
20074,765
20084,717
20094,752
20104,675
20114,655
20124,534
20134,405
20144,367
20154,275
20164,222
20174,259
20184,234
20194,174
20204,060
20213,984
20223,956
20233,849
20243,776
20253,693
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Na h-Eileanan Siar council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,585 people in 1996; 14,828 people in 2025. 15.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Na h-Eileanan Siar council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,653
199217,686
199317,761
199417,740
199517,655
199617,585
199717,189
199816,941
199916,726
200016,439
200116,240
200216,194
200316,235
200416,452
200516,671
200616,791
200716,897
200816,889
200916,877
201017,042
201117,014
201216,832
201316,690
201416,386
201516,131
201615,890
201715,742
201815,529
201915,376
202015,171
202115,239
202215,176
202315,097
202415,020
202514,828
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Na h-Eileanan Siar council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 5,241 people in 1996; 7,249 people in 2025. 38.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Na h-Eileanan Siar council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19915,418
19925,372
19935,366
19945,345
19955,284
19965,241
19975,200
19985,216
19995,220
20005,212
20015,256
20025,256
20035,293
20045,320
20055,419
20065,491
20075,548
20085,674
20095,791
20105,883
20116,021
20126,174
20136,255
20146,427
20156,524
20166,588
20176,689
20186,737
20196,790
20206,849
20216,937
20226,988
20237,054
20247,134
20257,249
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 26,159 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Na h-Eileanan Siar · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total25,69298.2%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 27,684 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Na h-Eileanan Siar · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White27,42999.1%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller100%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group670.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian410.1%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani260.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi120%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese120%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian510.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British180.1%
Other Ethnic Group180.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Na h-Eileanan Siar council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,366 per person in 1997; £22,351 per person in 2024. 167.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Na h-Eileanan Siar council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,366
19988,622
19998,750
20008,815
20019,351
200210,400
200310,378
200410,993
200511,457
200611,432
200712,210
200812,614
200913,178
201013,863
201114,447
201214,487
201314,973
201415,170
201516,594
201616,921
201718,652
201819,316
201919,715
202019,218
202119,829
202220,722
202321,228
202422,351
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Na h-Eileanan Siar council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -21.1% in 1997; -13.9% in 2024. 7.2 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Na h-Eileanan Siar council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-21.1
1998-20.4
1999-22.6
2000-25.9
2001-24.4
2002-17.8
2003-20.4
2004-19
2005-18.5
2006-21.9
2007-20.4
2008-19.9
2009-17.7
2010-14.2
2011-11.3
2012-14.2
2013-14.5
2014-16.1
2015-12.8
2016-12.1
2017-5.3
2018-5.4
2019-6.4
2020-8.4
2021-9.2
2022-9.8
2023-13.2
2024-13.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

17.7%

20 March 2022 · Na h-Eileanan Siar council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Na h-Eileanan Siar council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£140,000

July 2026 · Na h-Eileanan Siar council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.